What if I gave away all that I owned and let myself be burned alive? I would gain nothing, unless I loved others. Love is kind and patient… – 1 Corinthians 13:3-4 (Contemporary English Version)

Patience is an inherent quality of the recreated human spirit. It’s the ability to be unswerving or undeterred from you deliberate purpose and faith, even by the greatest of trials. To be patient means to have the ability to stick with something to the very end, despite staggering oppositions. It means to have staying power or endurance.

Thus when the Bible says “love is patient” it means love endures and bears up all things, and at all times! It means that irrespective of the pressures or challenges you might face in your relationship with others, your only option is to keep the love fire aflame-keep walking in love. Some people give up in their love-walk at the slightest sign of trouble or opposition, and that’s wrong. Love endures to the end.

You’re the love child of a love-God; therefore the first thing that people notice about you should be the love of Jesus that you manifest in a cynical world. The Bible says God is love, and the one who loves is born of Him. The one who does not love does not know Him (1 John 4:7-8). It doesn’t matter that he talks about God and even preach about God-he doesn’t really know Him. That means, you have to show love to people everywhere you go in an unswerving manner; you must never be tired of showing love.

Jesus was teaching on the patience of love when He said “Take heed to yourselves: If thy brother trespass against thee, rebuke him; and if he repent, forgive him. And if he trespass against thee seven times in a day, and seven times in a day turn again to thee, saying, I repent; thou shall forgive him” (Luke 17:3-4).

Apart from being known for your preaching and faith, be known first for the love of God that radiates through you. Even when you’re ill-treated or spoken to badly, refuse to respond with harsh or bitter words! Let your words be full of love, for love is patient and kind. This, however, doesn’t mean that you must just keep quiet when someone is doing something wrong. Notice what the Lord said in the scripture above, “…If thy brother trespass against thee, rebuke him…”. He also said, As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent (Revelation 3:19); in other words, you can rebuke without using harsh words. Use God’s Word!

For more, please read and study: 1 Corinthians 13:3-4 (Amplified Bible); Matthew 18:21-22

Please click here if you aren’t yet born again. God bless you.

Proclamation of Faith

I’ve made up my mind to be patient and undeterred in my love-walk for I’m the love child of a love-God! Love is the hallmark and trademark of my life. It’s in my words, my actions and my thoughts. Love is the flag flung high on the castle of my heart and my distinctive characteristic feature, in the Name of Jesus. Amen.

