12 Wherefore, my beloved, as ye have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. 13 For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure. – Philippians 2:12-13

Right after Paul the Apostle admonished that we “work out our salvation with fear and trembling”; he began his next statement with the word “for”, “For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure”. That’s another way of saying because it is God which worketh in you…” Thus, the only reason you can work out your salvation is that God is at work in you, both to will and to do His good pleasure! That means both the willingness and the drive to live the godly life come from the Lord. By yourself, you wouldn’t ordinarily be prompted to do those things that please the Lord, except He put that desire in you.

This is exciting! That means every desire you have to do the things of God is evidence that God is at work in you. He has placed in you both the craving and propensity to do His will. You don’t have to struggle to serve Him; He is at work in you 24 hours a day! If you would just yield to His Spirit who dwells in you, then you’d do the things of God effortlessly.

It pays to recognize the Lord as the One at work in you. Some Christians are yet to recognize this truth. Some may even say, “Something told me to pray and I did” or “Something told me to take that route, and as I did, I avoided the accident”. That was God’s Spirit at work in you, not “Something”. He is the Lord, therefore recognize and acknowledge Him for who He is!

The devil will never tell you to pray, sow seed, win souls or do anything that would steer you clear of calamity! He’ll never ask you to do anything that’s consistent with the perfect will of God. Hence, whenever you receive such promptings know for sure that the Lord is working in you. Your response and testimony should be, “The Lord told me to do this and I did!”

As you set out on your business and pursuits today, say, “Father, I thank you for you’re at work in me, both to will and to do of your good please in my life! I recognize you as the one working in me!” That way, you’ve hallowed your day, and the Spirit of God will guide you, lead you and cause you to triumph in all your endeavors for the day.

For more, please read and study: Ephesians 3:20-21 (Message Bible); Philippians 4:13

Please click here if you aren’t yet born again. God bless you.

Faith’s Proclamation

God is at work in me today, producing in me the desire and the drive to do His good purpose in my life! As I yield to the Holy Spirit today, I effortlessly do those things that bring glory and honor to the Father and walk in His perfect will, Hallelujah!

