While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal. – 2 Corinthians 4:18

In the scripture above, Paul writing to the Christians at Corinth said: “look not” at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen. The word “look” as used above is from a Greek word “skopeo” and it means “to consider, mark or take cognizance of.” It doesn’t refer to a mere glance at something. It means not to give attention, consideration or take into cognizance the negative circumstances which you can see with your optical eyes, for they are subject to change.

Faith is the leap of the Word. It’s believing and accepting God’s Word as the truth, while giving no cognizance, attention or consideration to the prevailing negative circumstances. This was what Abraham did that typified him as one who demonstrated strong faith: “And being not weak in faith, he considered not his own body…” (Romans 4:19).

There are folks who would ask, “How can I say I’m healed when the growth in my body is getting larger?” or “Why should I pretend that I have money when I don’t have any? Such people don’t understand faith and how it works! Faith doesn’t deny that the growth is there, or that you have no money in the bank; what faith does is to change those facts by refusing to give them attention, consideration or cognizance. Faith fixes its attention on the realities of God’s Word which confirms divine health and prosperity.

Understand this: faith is not the denial of the fact. Rather, faith is denying those facts the right and ability to control the circumstances of your existence. So, quit thinking faith is all about denying facts or pretending to have what you actually don’t have. Faith is calling real what God has said about you, therefore acting that way. Here lies the difference between fact and truth.

When David confronted Goliath as a young boy, he didn’t deny that he was facing a giant. But where everyone else was so focused on the size of the giant, David only gave consideration to the truth that he was in the covenant with Jehovah (1 Samuel 17:1-51). Don’t give attention to the things you can see with your optical eyes, for they’re all subject to change (2 Corinthians 4:16-18). Rather, shift your gaze and focus to the eternal realities in God’s Word.

Please click here if you aren’t yet born again. God bless you.

Confession (Faith’s Proclamation)

I’m not moved by what I see, hear or feel, for my attention is fixed on God’s eternal Word and the realities of the Kingdom. I look away from every distracting circumstance and look up to Jesus, the author and the finisher of my faith. I’m fully persuaded that irrespective of how I feel or what I see, I’m what God says I am; I have what God says I have, and I can do what God says I can do. Hallelujah.

Further Study: Romans 4:19-21; Hebrews 12:2

