“… the effective fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.” James 5:16

The Apostle James lets us know in the scripture above the kind of prayer that changes things: it is the effectual, fervent prayer of a righteous man.” The Amplified version renders it beautifully: The earnest (heartfelt, continued) prayer of a righteous man makes tremendous power available [dynamic in its working]. Someone may say, “O, I know why my prayers have not been producing results; it’s because I’m not righteous!” Well, the question is, are you born again? If you’re born again then you’re righteous, which means you can change hopeless situations through prayer.

When God told King Hezekiah he was going to die (2Kings 20:1), the Bible says He turned his face to the wall, and prayed unto the LORD”(2Kings 20:2). He prayed earnestly and the Lord said: “I have heard thy prayer, I have seen thy tears: behold, I will heal thee…And I will add unto thy days fifteen years(2Kings 20:5-6). Miracles happen when we pray the right kind of prayers.

The prayer that works, the kind of prayer that changes hopeless situations is that which is earnest, heartfelt and continued. This kind of prayers touches your emotion and your soul. It’s serious business because you desire to see a definite change. It’s direct in purpose; you’re praying fervently with a deep feeling of conviction. You tell yourself, “I’m not going to give up until I’ve seen the change I desire”.

This was the kind of prayer Elijah prayed. The Bible says he prayed earnestly that it should not rain and it rained not on the earth by the space of three years and six months. Then he prayed again, and the heaven gave rain, and the earth brought forth her fruit”(James 5:17-18). According to the Bible, Elijah was a man subject to like passions as we are. In other words, you too can pray earnestly and turn hopeless situations around.

Further Study: James 5:17-18; Mark 11: 23-24

