Jesus did identity himself with the same exact name and attributes as Yahweh/Jehovah God in the Old Testament. Here is one example:

John 8:56–59 – “Your father Abraham rejoiced to see My day, and he saw it and was glad.” So the Jews said to Him, “You are not yet fifty years old, and have You seen Abraham?” Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was born, I AM.” Therefore they picked up stones to throw at Him, but Jesus hid Himself and went out of the temple.

1. Jesus did not merely say before Abraham was I was, which would have indicated his existence predated Abraham, he said ‘ἐγώεἰμί (Ego Eimi)’ – I Be/Am, which denotes self existence without beginning or ending. He reiterated this when He went on to say that He is the First and the Last after His Resurrection (Revelation 1:17-18). He claimed to have had the same glory with the Father before the creation in John 17:5: “And now, Father, glorify me at your side with the glory I had with you before the world was created.”

2. ἐγώεἰμί or I Be/Am is the Greek rendering of the Hebrew personal name of the God of Israel YHWH or I Am, used by the translators of the Septuagint.. Exodus 3:14 (Logos LXX)

“καὶεἶπεν ὁθεὸς πρὸς Μωυσῆν “Ἐγώεἰμι” (Ego Eimi/I AM) ὁὤν, καὶεἶπεν Οὕτωςἐρεῖςτοῖςυἱοῖς Ισραηλ Ὁὢνἀπέσταλκένμε πρὸςὑμᾶς.”

3. Since words only take on meaning within a context, besides the contextual use of “before Abraham was I Am” in verse 57, you have the context of verse 58 with the reaction of the Jewish hears of Jesus calling Himself I Am.They wanted to kill him on the spot. Why would they do that if it didn’t mean something that is blasphemous to them?

Here are other passages to show the reason why they wanted to kill Him (He claimed to be God):

John 5:16 – Now because Jesus was doing these things on the Sabbath, the Jewish leaders began persecuting him. 17 So he told them, “My Father is working until now, and I too am working.” 18 For this reason the Jewish leaders were trying even harder to kill him, because not only was he breaking the Sabbath, but he was also calling God his own Father, thus making himself equal with God.

John 10:30 – The Father and I are one [Greek, “ἕνἐσμεν” (en esmen)] 31 The Jewish leaders picked up rocks again to stone him to death. 32 Jesus said to them, “I have shown you many good deeds from the Father. For which one of them are you going to stone me? 33 The Jewish leaders replied, “We are not going to stone you for a good deed but for blasphemy, because you, a man, are claiming to be God.”

“Are One” in verse 30, derives from the Greek “ἕνἐσμεν” (en esmen) is a significant assertion with Trinitarian implications. “ἕν” is neuter, not masculine, so the assertion is not that Jesus and the Father are one person, but one “thing.” Identity of the two persons is not what is asserted, but essential unity (unity of essence).

