Jesus Is Himself God

“For, in Him (Christ) dwelleth all the fullness of the Godhead bodily”. - Colossians 2:9

After Jesus rose from the dead, He appeared to His disciples. But one of them, Thomas wasn’t there. When the Lord appeared to the disciples in another occasion, Thomas was present and the Lord said to Him, “Reach hither thy finger, and behold my hands; and reach hither thy hand, and thrust it into my side: and be not faithless, but believing” (John 20:27). With trembling hands, Thomas reached out his hand, felt the holes in the Master’s hands and the hole in His side. Awed at this, Thomas could say nothing else but, “My Lord and My God” (John 20:28)!

Peter had called Him, “the Christ, Son of the Living God” (Matthew 16:16), but Thomas saw Him in a new light. Notice that when Thomas addressed Him as God, Jesus didn’t say, “No, Thomas, don’t call me God, you’re going too far.” He accepted it because Thomas spoke reality. Jesus is Himself God. The Bible says “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God” (John 1:1).

You’ve got to come to that point in your life where you recognize that Jesus is Himself God. The Bible tells us that the fullness of the Godhead bodily dwells in Jesus Christ. When you see Jesus, you wouldn’t need to look out for the Holy Spirit or the Father; He is the complete embodiment of Deity.

No wonder Colossians 1:16-19 says “by Him (Jesus Christ) were all things created, that are in heaven, and that are in earth, visible and invisible, whether they be thrones, or dominions, or principalities, or powers: all things were created by Him, and for Him: And He is before all things, and by Him all things consist…For it pleased the Father that in Him should all fullness dwell.” This is the picture of the resurrected Christ; the One in whom you have believed, and Who dwells in your heart by faith.

I urge you to accept Him as your Lord and Savior right now if you haven’t done that yet. Follow this link for more on how to?

Prayer:

Precious Lord Jesus, You’re my Lord and my God! You’re my life, the One I live for and live unto. I worship you for who you are; you’re my everything, and the reason for my existence. Thank you for revealing yourself to me today, amen.

Further Study/Reading: John 1:1-3, 14

Leave a Reply

